Fantasy sand art

Publié le par L3

One of the newest art forms the most fascinating and original, that everyone would appreciate, is « fantasy sand art»; as ILANA YAHAV calls her art work.  

 

Ilana YAHAV is an Israili painter, sculptor and visual artist. She first started creating latex puppets index-copie-3.jpg for advertisements and movies for many years in her studio. She made puppets for the satire political TV program "Chartzufim" for the Israeli television, based on the British show "Spitting Image." This could have been success for her, but she new she had other things more sepctacular to share with people. She found then in sand, the simplest and best means to show what she is capable of creating.

 

 

 

All Ilana needs in order to create some breath-taking pictures, is a back-lit sand table and her hands. Music is also an important element in Ilana's creations, she choses carefully the soundtrack that goes with the theme and gives a certain coherence to the subjet. In  her words, about her fantasy drawings proceeding,: “I don’t have the luxury of making mistakes. I cannot stop, hesitate, delete or patch up anything. I have to go with the music. I have to keep up with the beat. I use emotions like a paintbrush. Movements are similar to a caress, sometimes totally blind, because I don’t see the result while creating the image; I see it only after I have taken my hand from the table, and then I am already in the middle of the next piece…”. Her audience can see music flows through her fingers, drawing in sand, as if they were dancing on music rythms. She can take one picture and transform it into another one in just a matter of seconds. Her public though share with her the emotions they can feel in her creations and magic. czy5waja.jpg

 

Over her many years as a sand artist, Ilana has accomplished numbers of performances in dozens of countries around the world. She limped from small and intimate performances to huge and grand productions. She also performed at the Kremlin in front of an audience of thousands, with four orchestras accompanying her creations on stage.  

 

 


 

 

  Sand art is beautiful to look at, but it lasts only few time. This is maybe the aspect that makes this art form be unique and so appealing, Sand art is the most compelling new art form to come around in decades.

 

 

  Mohammed B.

Publié dans Art

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
J
<br /> Excellent! I really appreciate this art. Must be my poetic part of myself :)<br />
Répondre